The Comeback by Catherine Weiss

When he returned to Earth last spring
our Lord Jesus
did indeed make the rounds
of the talk-show circuit.

His talking points were
dealing with an omnipotent
father figure,
the hiatus,
and next moves.

@TheRealJC even attracted
more followers than
Justin Bieber.
Totes populaire.

Unfortunately, the Son of God’s
music career never
did take off.

Sorry Jesus, nobody
listens to ska anymore.

******************************************************************************************************************************************************************
Catherine Weiss is a poet and author living in Northampton, MA. She has been published in Drunk Monkeys, port.man.teau., Linguistic Erosion, Melancholy Hyperbole, and Red River Review. Her website is http://catherineweiss.com.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “The Comeback by Catherine Weiss

  1. holdenlyric says:

    I totally listen to ska!

    This is your brain…this is your brain on SKA

    • Yes! I did once upon a time. It still makes me happy to hear it these days when I do listen now and then. I wonder if Catherine does/did also. What bands do you listen to?

      Also, Holden I got your submission (exciting!). I’ll let you know what I’m thinking when I can

      • holdenlyric says:

        I like Streetlight Manifesto more than life sometimes.

        Reel Big Fish, The Specials, Op Ivy

        haha yay! I’m glad they’ve been received. No worries. I’m still waiting to hear back from a few I submitted to in January, so I’m used to the wait.

  2. Cool. Yeah I love op ivy to this day! And I think members of streetlight manifesto used to be in a band called Catch22 that I definitely obsessed over. Hehe

Leave a comment